365 Days of Fear: Day 1

I’ll admit, I had no idea where to start with this challenge. Do I start big? Do I start small? Do I do a triathlon? Or do I text someone what I’ve been feeling but am too scared to say? In the end, I decided to do something small. Therefore all I can do is go up, right? My day was also pretty jam-packed with shadowing all day at a high school, then work, then dinner with family friends. So the logical thing to do was call it a day at something doable.

I decided what I was going to do in the moment. I was timing speeches for the teacher I am currently shadowing and a girl in front of me was wearing a shirt from Gustavus Adolphus College (where I go). Need I say that she was and still is a stranger? I am not one who typically tells a stranger that I like their shirt, or hair, or anything for that matter. So I decided then and there that I had nothing to lose (a bit dramatic, but when am I not dramatic). Once she sat down after her speech I told her I liked her shirt and we had a conversation about how her sister goes to Gustavus and returned back to class activities. The moment passed as if it were nothing, and of course I had nothing to worry about in the first place.

So, day one is done. 364 days to go!

Leave a Reply

