365 Days of Fear: Day 21

Today was…rough. To put it in the simplest terms possible. I started my day with an 8am class, but was happy to enjoy a breakfast of hash browns and bacon with my roommate beforehand. Or so I thought. As I entered my classroom my stomach started feeling upset and the rest is history. (Aka I got sick and had to leave class)

Sparing you the gory details, I headed back to my dorm room and slept until my 10:30 class. I was toying with the idea of not going (because my stomach was still rebelling), but ultimately decided to drag myself out of bed. And I decided that today this would be the fear that I would face.

Who wouldn’t be afraid of puking again in the middle of a class? Especially in a building they don’t know very well? But I told myself that everything would stay down and if all didn’t go well at my 10:30 class I wouldn’t go to my lecture later that afternoon.

And thank goodness that everything did stay in place because I honestly don’t know how I would deal with facing my innate fear of puking in class (that I feel everyone has had since kindergarten). And a bonus to my attending the lecture is that I finally found a science that I find interesting and engaging! It has been 10 long years of school scraping by and barely staying awake in science classes. But today I discovered my scientific passion: geology. Who knew my love of science would be found in rocks?

Anyways, it rocks (get it?) that I made it through most of my classes.

21 days down, 244 days to go!

Leave a Reply

