365 Days of Fear: Day 41

Today was surprisingly long for a Wednesday. It just felt like one thing after another after another. This seems to be another theme in my life lately. I don’t remember the last time I wasn’t exhausted or had nothing to do on my to-do list (haha).

Today I stepped out of my comfort zone and applied to be a Writing Center tutor here at Gustavus. After my failed attempt at becoming a Gustie Greeter I was apprehensive to apply; I felt as though I would just let myself down again. I very much want this position because it is quite literally my dream job: to work with writing and help others develop theirs to a proficient college level.

This time, I decided to do the application more than one night in advance. And have friends look over the essay I was planning on submitting to make sure it was the right one to choose. I feel as though all of this preparation helps deplete my fear of failure (although arguably not becoming a Gustie Greeter was not a failure; it is a very very selective process).

So here’s to hoping that sometime next week I will be hearing good news instead of getting a polite email saying that I’m “not what they’re looking for”.

41 days down, 324 days to go!

Leave a Reply

