365 Days of Fear: Day 42

I have normally been the type of student who does the majority of readings and comes to class prepared. That is, until I got to college. I hate to say it, but oftentimes, being a Secondary Education (English) major, I have an abundance of readings and not enough time. This is not a new story for college students, but it has been hard for me to find time to get all of my readings done–especially when I know it is not necessary to closely read every single one for many of my classes. So today I faced a fear that might be one I could have left untouched, but oh well.

I was hesitant to go to class without being fully prepared. I had done half of the readings, but had merely skimmed the other ones. I felt as though my professor would know straightaway that I was unprepared and would call me out. But lo and behold I was somehow able to contribute to the conversations in class. And although I know it is not smart to go to class completely unprepared and clueless, I know now that missing a reading or two will not be the end of my life as a student. Because let’s be honest, I’m sure some of the greatest minds skipped a reading now and then.

What I learned through facing this fear is that sometimes sleep should come before readings (but, honestly, I already did that–just without being stressed out upon going to sleep).

42 days down, 323 to go!

Leave a Reply

